2012 IIW AWARDS: Arthur Smith Award

The Arthur Smith Award, sponsored by the United Kingdom Delegation, was presented by the Head of the United Kingdom Delegation, Eur Ing Norman I. Cooper, to Dipl.-Ing. Christian Ahrens (Germany).
Dipl.-Ing. Christian Ahrens graduated in 1975 as a Civil Engineer from the Aachen Technical University (RWTH), Germany. Up until 1984, he worked for different companies designing steel structures, bridges and space frames both in Germany and in some Arab nations. During this period, he also successfully obtained his diploma in Welding Engineering after completing a DVS Welding Engineer course.
In 1984, he assumed the position of Head of the Education, Training and Quality Assurance department of the German Welding Institute (SLV) Duisburg, at the same time becoming a member of the German Welding Society (DVS). He served the DVS system as Head of a local examination board, later becoming Head of the national examination board for an 8-year period. For more than 20 years, he chaired the German committee for the training and examination of Welding Engineers.
During the 1980s and 1990s, he also served as the responsible coordinator in the establishment of a Welding Institute in the P.R. of China (WTI Harbin) and in the launching of the first Welding Engineer courses in the Republic of Korea. Dipl.-Ing. Ahrens has been an active participant in the IIW since 1992. Shortly after joining Commission XIV and establishing Commission VII, he was elected Chair of Commission VII in 1995. After Commission VII ceased its activity, he assumed the chairmanship of IAB-Group A for a 9-year consecutive period up until 2011. In parallel, he has also been active in IAB-Group B and as a Member of the IAB Board. In addition, Dipl.-Ing. Christian Ahrens served the IIW system as a Peer Assessor from 1997-2009 and remains active as a Lead Assessor since 2009 and as a Distance Learning Assessor since 2004.
In 2007, he received the iMove “German Training Export Award” and was presented with the AWS “International Meritorious Certification Award” in 2010.