2013 IIW AWARDS: Thomas Medal

The Thomas Medal, sponsored by the American Welding Society (AWS), was presented by Mrs Nancy Cole, President of the American Welding Society, to Prof. Xiao-Ling Zhao (Australia).
Prof. Xiao-Ling Zhao is the holder of Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, a PhD and Doctor of Engineering (higher doctorate) in Civil Engineering from The University of Sydney, as well as a MBA (Executive) jointly awarded by The University of Sydney and The University of New South Wales (Australia).
He has been a member of WTIA (Welding Technology Institute of Australia) since 1992 and an active participant in the IIW over the last 20 years.
Since 2002, Prof. Zhao has been Chair of IIW Sub-Commission XV-E on Tubular Structures. Under his leadership, XV-E wrote two ISO standards (ISO 14346 and ISO 14347), four design guides (available in 4 languages) and a text book on welded hollow-section joints, and organised five International Symposia on Tubular Structures.
Prof. Zhao has been very active in conducting research on welded tubular structures, sponsored by the Australian Research Council and by industry, with total funding exceeding $10 million. He has supervised 22 PhD students to completion and published 8 books, 175 refereed journal papers and over 215 conference papers. He is also a member of the Editorial Board for three international journals. Prof. Zhao was the Head of Department of Civil Engineering at Monash University, Australia, from 2008 to 2011.
Prof. Zhao was elected to Fellows of American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), Engineers Australia (IEAust) and International Institute of FRP for Construction (IIFC). His achievements have been recognised internationally through several prestigious fellowships awarded by The Royal Academy of Engineering (UK), Swiss National Science Foundation, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science, 1000 Talent Award Program (P.R. of China) and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Germany).