news and events

2013 IIW AWARDS: Halil Kaya Gedik Award

Sponsored by the Turkish Delegation and awarded for the first time in 2013, the Halil Kaya Gedik Award was presented by Dr. Mustafa Koçak, CEO of Gedik Holding, to Mr Hideyuki Yamamoto (Japan).
Immediately after graduating from the Department of Applied Physics at the School of Engineering in Nagoya University (Japan) in 1965, Mr Hideyuki Yamamoto joined the Osaka Transformer Co., Ltd. (currently the DAIHEN Corporation) in its R&D Division for Welding and Cutting Machines.

2013 IIW AWARDS: Evgeny Paton Prize

The Evgeny Paton Prize, sponsored by the National Welding Committee of the Ukraine and the E.O. Paton Electric Welding Institute, was presented by the Head of the Ukrainian Delegation, Prof. Konstantin Yushchenko to Prof. Dr.-Ing Adolf F. Hobbacher (Germany).
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Adolf F. Hobbacher graduated in 1961 in Mechanical Engineering from the Technical University in Stuttgart, Germany. He began his professional career in 1962 as a Project and Design Engineer at a company dealing with chemical plant equipment, heavy machinery and pressure vessels, later becoming Head of the Design Office.

2013 IIW AWARDS: Thomas Medal

The Thomas Medal, sponsored by the American Welding Society (AWS), was presented by Mrs Nancy Cole, President of the American Welding Society, to Prof. Xiao-Ling Zhao (Australia).
Prof. Xiao-Ling Zhao is the holder of Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, a PhD and Doctor of Engineering (higher doctorate) in Civil Engineering from The University of Sydney, as well as a MBA (Executive) jointly awarded by The University of Sydney and The University of New South Wales (Australia).

2013 IIW AWARDS: Arthur Smith Award

The Arthur Smith Award, sponsored by the United Kingdom Delegation, was presented by the Head of the United Kingdom Delegation, Eur Ing Norman I. Cooper, to Eur Ing Dr. David Shackleton (United Kingdom).
Eur Ing Dr. David Shackleton is a metallurgist who was awarded a BMet from Sheffield University and a PhD from Leeds University. He began his career at The Welding Institute (TWI), initially in the Metallurgy Department and subsequently in the Welding Processes Department where he worked on a range of different materials and a variety of welding processes.

2013 IIW AWARDS: Walter Edström Medal

The Walter Edström Medal, sponsored by the Swedish Delegation, was awarded to the late Mr IWE Halil Kaya Gedik (Turkey). The award was presented by Mr Lars Johansson, Head of the Swedish Delegation, to Mrs Hülya Gedik-Sadiklar, who received the award on behalf of her late father.

2013 IIW AWARDS: Yoshiaki Arata Award

The Yoshiaki Arata Award, sponsored by the Japanese Delegation, was presented by Prof. Dr.-Eng. Yoshinori Hirata, Head of the Japanese Delegation, to Dr. Damian J. Kotecki (United States).

2013 IIW AWARDS: Welding in the World Best Paper Award

The Welding in the World Best Paper Award, sponsored by the IIW, was presented by Prof. John C. Lippold, one of the journal’s Editors, to Mr Masami Mizutani and Prof. Dr. Seiji Katayama, both of the Joining and Welding Research Institute (JWRI), Osaka University, Japan, for their paper, “TIG weld penetration improvement by laser-activated process with oxygen.”

2013 IIW AWARDS: Ugo Guerrera Prize

The Ugo Guerrera Prize, sponsored by IIS-Istituto Italiano della Saldatura (Italian Institute of Welding), was presented by Dr. Luca Costa, Head of the Italian Delegation, to Dr. Jean Gérald (France) for the “Charles de Gaulle Aircraft Carrier.”
International Welding Engineer, Dr. Jean Gérald, graduated in Applied Mathematics from the Pierre et Marie Curie University (Paris, France), later receiving his PhD Degree in Fatigue of Welded Steel Structures from the Université de Technologie de Compiègne (Oise, France).

2013 IIW AWARDS: Henry Granjon Prize

The Henry Granjon prizes were presented by Dr. Fabrice Scandella on behalf of IS-Institut de Soudure (French Welding Institute).

— Category A “Joining and Fabrication Technology”

The prize was awarded to Mr Satya Gajapathi (Canada) for his paper, “A Novel Approach to Microwelding using Electron Beam.”

2012 IIW AWARDS: Evgeny Paton Prize

The Paton Prize, sponsored by the National Welding Committee of the Ukraine and the E.O. Paton Electric Welding Institute, was presented by Prof. Konstantin Yushchenko to Dipl.-Ing Michael Szczesny (Germany).