news and events

2012 IIW AWARDS: Arthur Smith Award

The Arthur Smith Award, sponsored by the United Kingdom Delegation, was presented by the Head of the United Kingdom Delegation, Eur Ing Norman I. Cooper, to Dipl.-Ing. Christian Ahrens (Germany).
Dipl.-Ing. Christian Ahrens graduated in 1975 as a Civil Engineer from the Aachen Technical University (RWTH), Germany. Up until 1984, he worked for different companies designing steel structures, bridges and space frames both in Germany and in some Arab nations. During this period, he also successfully obtained his diploma in Welding Engineering after completing a DVS Welding Engineer course.

2012 IIW AWARDS: Thomas Medal

The Thomas Medal, sponsored by the American Welding Society (AWS), was presented by Mr. William A. Rice, President of the American Welding Society, to Dr. Warren Miglietti, Chair of the American Council of IIW, who received the Award on behalf of Mr David R. Bolser (United States) who had been unable to attend IIW 2012-Denver.

2012 IIW AWARDS: Yoshiaki Arata Award

The Yoshiaki Arata Award, sponsored by the Japanese Delegation, was presented by Prof. Dr.-Eng. Kazutoshi Nishimoto, Head of the Japanese Delegation, to Prof. Dr. Gert den Ouden (The Netherlands).

2012 IIW AWARDS: "Welding in the World" Best Paper Award

The Welding in the World Best Paper Award, introduced in 2012 and sponsored by the IIW, was presented by Prof. Bruno de Meester, one of the journal’s Editors, to Dr. Thomas Bruder (Germany). Dr. Bruder received the Award on behalf of his colleagues at Fraunhofer LBF,
Prof. Dr. Cetin Morris Sonsino, Dr. Heinz Kaufmann, Dr. Rainer Wagener,

2012 IIW AWARDS: André Leroy Prize

André Leroy PrizeThe André Leroy Prize, sponsored by the French Delegation, was presented by Dr. Abdelkrim Chehaibou, Head of the French Delegation, to Mr John S. Petkovsek (United States) of the Lincoln Electric Company, USA, for his Welding Safety Interactive DVD.
For 32 years, Mr John Petkovsek has actively worked in various areas of the welding industry since joining The Lincoln Electric Company in 1980.

2012 IIW AWARDS: Henry Granjon Prize

The Henry Granjon prizes were presented by Dr. Abdelkrim Chehaibou on behalf of the Institut de Soudure (French Welding Institute).

— Category A “Joining and Fabrication Technology”

The prize was awarded to Dr. Yi Huang (United States) for his paper, “Metal Transfer Control at Given Variables in Laser Enhanced Gas Metal Arc Welding.”

EWF Smart Phone Application

The European Federation for Welding, Joining and Cutting (EWF) has announced a new smart phone application - Welding Calculator. The development of the application has started in June, 2011. Currently the beta-testing of the first of these appolications, a Welding Calculator for Volume of Butt and Fillet Welds is finished. The application was developed for smart phones using Google Android platform.
The public version of the application is available for download via android market or from the EWF Webpage.

The 6-th International Scientific Conference for students and specialists in welding and related technologies

The Scientific Society of Pre- and Postgraduate Students of the Welding Faculty together with the Welding Faculty administration invite students, scholars and specialists in field of welding and related technologies to take part in the 6th Annual Scientific Conference “Complex Approach to Development of Welding – 2012”.
The conference will take place in Kyiv, on 24 – 25 of April, 2012.

Papers are invited to cover the following topics:
Technology of Welding Production;
Welding Industrial Systems;
Surface Engineering.

The 6-th Graduation of IWE

On March, 3rd, 2012 the group MI-6 of candidates for the International Welding Engineer qualification (according to the International Institute of Welding Guideline IAB-252-07) have successfully passed their final examinations.

The competition Eutopean MSc Welding Awards

The Eutopean MSc Welding Awards compwtition is an annual event conducted and sponsored by the European Federation for Welding, Joining and Cutting. The aim of the competition is to present the results of the best thesis in the field of welding and related technologies to the great amount of specialists in the area and thus give their authors a good opportunity to start their carreer in welding. The winner is awarded by the monetary prize and invited to present his/her thesis on the annual congress in welding run by the EWF.